wordpress blog stats
Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

These are the 7 MPs that have been added to the Joint Parliamentary Committee on the PDP Bill

The PDP Bill has been under review by a Joint Parliamentary Committee since 2019, and the committee was recently given an extension till the winter session for presenting its report.

Four members of Rajya Sabha were appointed to the Joint Parliamentary Committee on the Personal Data Protection Bill after a motion by BJP MP V. Murleedharan was passed in the Upper House today.

Yesterday two motions were passed in the Lok Sabha today to appoint 7 new members- 3 from the Lok Sabha and 4 from the Rajya Sabha to the JPC, which has had several vacancies recently after multiple members were inducted into the Union Council of Ministers. Both the Lok Sabha motions were introduced by committee’s Chairman P.P. Chaudhry and committee member Bhartruhari Mahtab. The motion in the lower house however did not list the names of the Rajya Sabha MPs and instead, recommended the Upper House to appoint four MPs from the house and subsequently ‘communicate’ the appointments to the Lower House.

Recent resignations, retirements, and elevation of several committee members to positions in the Council of Ministers left as many as seven positions vacant in the 30 member-committee.

Why it matters? The JPC was constituted in December 2019 to review the draft Personal Data Protection Bill, 2019, under the chairmanship of Meenakashi Lekhi. According to PRS legislative, a JPC can give non-enforceable recommendations to the government and subsequently publish reports on actions taken by the government which can be debated in Parliament. Since the Puttaswamy judgement in 2017 at the Supreme Court of India, the government has been under an obligation to pass legislation to protect Indians’ personal data. Steps like a data protection regulator, localisation requirements for data, and other aspects of the draft bill have been closely watched by the industry for years.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Who are the new appointees?

Lok Sabha

The motion proposed to appoint three MPs from Lok Sabha to the JPC, namely:

  • Thiru Dayanidhi Maran (DMK)
  • Dr. Satya Pal Singh (BJP)
  • Aparajita Sarangi (BJP)

Rajya Sabha

  • Prof. Ram Gopal Yadav (SP)
  • Rakesh Sinha (BJP)
  • Dr. Vinay P. Sahasrabuddhe (BJP)
  • Dr. Sudhanshu Trivedi (BJP)

Reasons for the vacancies

According to parliamentary procedures, MPs who are sworn into the Council of Ministers cannot be part of a Joint Parliamentary Committee.

Here are the positions that the former committee members hold now-

  • Meenakshi Lekhi is currently a Minister of State for the Ministry of External Affairs.
  • Ashwini Vaishnaw is currently the Minister of Communication, the Minister of Electronics and Information Technology, and the Minister of Railways.
  • Bhupender Yadav is currently the Minister of Labour and Employment.
  • Rajeev Chandrasekhar is currently a Minister of State in the Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology.
  • Ajay Bhatt is currently Minister of State for the Ministries of Defence and Tourism.

According to the motion, the resignation of DMK MP Kanimozhi Karunanidhi and the retirement of Prof. Ram Gopal Yadav has resulted in two other vacancies on the committee.

Other members of the JPC

The chairman of the committee BJP Lok Sabha MP P.P. Chaudhary was appointed to the post last month, in the ongoing monsoon session, following the termination of Meenakashi Lekhi’s chairmanship.

Lok Sabha MPs

  • S.S. Ahluwalia
  • Arvind Dharmapuri
  • Dr. Heena Vijaykumar Gavit
  • Gaurav Gogoi,
  • Dr. Sanjay Jaiswal,
  • Bhartruhari Mahtab,
  • Mahua Moitra,
  • Ritesh Pandey,
  • Col. Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore,
  • Midhun Reddy
  • Shrikant Eknath Shinde
  • Rajiv Ranjan Singh,
  • Uday Pratap Singh,
  • Dr. (Prof.) Kirit Premjibhai Solanki,
  • L.S. Tejasvi Surya,
  • Manish Tewari, S

Rajya Sabha MPs

  • A. Navaneethakrishnan
  • Derek O’ Brien
  • Dr. Amar Patnaik
  • Suresh Prabhu
  • Jairam Ramesh
  • Vivek K. Tankha

Also read:

Update, 2:48pm 5th August: The story was updated with the names of the Rajya Sabha MP’s added to the committee.

Have something to add? Subscribe to MediaNama and post your comment

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Written By

I cover health technology for MediaNama, among other things. Reach me at anushka@medianama.com

MediaNama’s mission is to help build a digital ecosystem which is open, fair, global and competitive.



Looking at the definition of health data, it is difficult to verify whether health IDs are covered by the Bill.


The accession to the Convention brings many advantages, but it could complicate the Brazilian stance at the BRICS and UN levels.


In light of the state's emerging digital healthcare apparatus, how does Clause 12 alter the consent and purpose limitation model?


The collective implication of leaving out ‘proportionality’ from Clause 12 is to provide very wide discretionary powers to the state.


The latest draft is also problematic for companies or service providers that have nothing to with children's data.

You May Also Like


Google has released a Google Travel Trends Report which states that branded budget hotel search queries grew 179% year over year (YOY) in India, in...


135 job openings in over 60 companies are listed at our free Digital and Mobile Job Board: If you’re looking for a job, or...


Rajesh Kumar* doesn’t have many enemies in life. But, Uber, for which he drives a cab everyday, is starting to look like one, he...


By Aroon Deep and Aditya Chunduru You’re reading it here first: Twitter has complied with government requests to censor 52 tweets that mostly criticised...

MediaNama is the premier source of information and analysis on Technology Policy in India. More about MediaNama, and contact information, here.

© 2008-2021 Mixed Bag Media Pvt. Ltd. Developed By PixelVJ

Subscribe to our daily newsletter
Your email address:*
Please enter all required fields Click to hide
Correct invalid entries Click to hide

© 2008-2021 Mixed Bag Media Pvt. Ltd. Developed By PixelVJ